Tag: Vegan Society

    Best Vegan Chocolate Bars UK

    No Comments
    Best Vegan Chocolate Bars UK

    Can vegans eat chocolate? Absolutely! Here is some of the best vegan chocolate available in the UK.

    Chocolate is one of life’s greatest pleasures and we’re sure most people would agree with us! This doesn’t need to change when you go dairy-free, thanks to the exciting variety of vegan chocolate hitting supermarket shelves right now.

    Plant-based brands are launching alternatives to milk chocolate that are so delicious, you wouldn’t be able to tell the difference. Even major confectionery brands such as Nestlé and Mars are swapping cow’s milk for oat and rice alternatives to embrace the ever-growing demand for vegan products.

    Keep reading in this website https://thevegangarden.com/ to discover some of the best vegan chocolate available in the UK.

    Best Vegan Chocolate Bars UK


    Cadbury Plant Bar

    This is the one we’ve all been waiting for! Our research revealed that more than a quarter of plant-based Brits say the iconic Dairy Milk is their most missed chocolate treat and Cadbury listened. Try the Cadbury Plant Bar in Smooth Chocolate or Almond Salted Caramel.

    Milky Way

    Who doesn’t have great memories of eating Milky Way Stars as a kid? Although there isn’t a vegan version of the iconic star-shaped chocolates, we can enjoy dairy-free Star Bars in a smooth variety or with popping candy. The Star Bars are gluten-free too.


    Finally some milk-style chocolate from one of the UK’s most beloved chocolatiers! Lindt’s Vegan Smooth and Vegan Hazelnut bars are just as good as ‘real’ milk chocolate, according to rave reviews. Made using cocoa blended with oats and smooth almond paste, these plant-based chocolate bars are too good to resist!

    Vegan Kit Kat

    Nestlé finally launched a vegan version of their classic Kit Kat in the UK, and although it was difficult to get hold of at first, the Kit Kat V is much easier to find in shops now. The bar is certified by the Vegan Society and made using 100% sustainable cocoa and rice milk, giving the chocolate-covered wafer a smooth, creamy finish.


    Chocoholics will be delighted to know that Mars has given Galaxy, Bounty and Topic a vegan makeover.

    There are currently five flavours of the vegan-certified Galaxy: Caramel and Sea Salt, Caramelised Hazelnut, Crumbled Cookie, Smooth Orange and Smooth Mint. They’re gluten-free too!

    Love Raw

    When it comes to vegan milk chocolate alternatives, Love Raw is changing the game! This brand’s “chocolate first, vegan second” approach puts flavour first and has become a firm favourite in the vegan community.

    If you’re craving alternatives to Kinder Bueno, Snickers or Ferrero Rocher, you’ve come to the right place. The growing range of chocolate includes:

    • M:lk® Choc Cre&m® Wafer Bars
    • M:lk® Choc Nutty Choc Balls
    • Caramelised Biscuit Cre&m® Wafer Bars
    • White Choc Cre&m® Wafer Bars
    • M:lk® Choc Bars
    • Peanut Butter Cups
    • Peanut Caramel Bar


    Here’s another brand you can rely on for tasty alternatives to your favourite milk chocolates, from Mars Bars and Crunchies to Terry’s Chocolate Orange. Butterm!lk’s Plant-Powered range is gluten-free and contains no palm oil as well as being delicious.

    The dairy-free collection includes:

    • Honeycomb Blast
    • Choccy Caramel
    • Peanut Nougat
    • Caramel Nougat
    • Orange Choccy Segments
    • Salted Caramel Cups
    • Choccy Orange Buttons


    Thanks to NOMO, nobody has to miss out on tasty chocolate ever again! This vegan chocolate brand is suitable for people with dairy, egg, gluten, peanut and tree nut allergies. Find your new favourite free-from treats in various flavours:

    • Caramel Chocolate Bars
    • Caramel & Sea Salt Bars
    • Caramelised Biscuit Bars
    • Fruit & Crunch Bars
    • Large Creamy Chocolate Bars
    • Large Orange Crunch Chocolate Bars
    • Cookie Dough Filled Chocolate Bars
    • Creamy Giant Chocolate Buttons
    • Caramel & Sea Salt Giant Buttons

    Look out for NOMO’s seasonal goodies at Easter and Christmas too!

    Moo Free

    If you’re looking for ethically sourced vegan chocolate, check out Moo Free’s award-winning range of free-from snacks. All of Moo Free’s chocolates are free from dairy, gluten and soya, meaning you don’t have to sacrifice your favourite goodies if you suffer with these allergies.

    As well as being made with Rainforest Alliance cocoa, Moo Free’s chocolates are wrapped in recycled plastics, making them kinder to the planet. Choose from:

    • Original Bars
    • Bunnycomb Bars
    • White Chocolate Bars
    • Fizzy Cola Bars
    • Fizzy Orange Bars
    • Fizzy Lemon Bars
    • Coccy Rocks Bars
    • Choc Truffles
    • Caramel Filled Choccies

    Look out for Moo Free’s seasonal treats such as advent calendars too.

    Rhythm 108

    Chocoholics are in for a treat with Rhythm 108’s range of vegan and gluten-free bars, truffles and biscuits. Inspired by the founder’s Swiss heritage, these specially crafted artisan chocolates are so indulgent you’ll never go back to dairy!

    The chocolate treats come in an array of exciting flavours, including:

    • Creamy Coconut Bar
    • Hazelnut Praline Bar
    • Chocolate Orange Bar
    • Almond Sea Salt Bar
    • Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie
    • Hazelnut Chocolate Praline Cookie
    • Hazelnut Truffle Tablets
    • Roasted Almond Butter Tablets
    • Dark Cocoa Orange Tablets

    Jeavons Toffee

    This family-run business is another go-to vegan chocolate brand to check out for alternatives to classic chocolates like Snickers and Rolos. The collection includes:

    As well as their main range, Jeavons Toffee also launch limited edition chocolates for occasions like Valentine’s Day, so grab them while you can!


    If nutty chocolate is your thing, then Vego’s Whole Hazelnut Chocolate Bar will change your life. Chunky, creamy and dangerously more-ish, this chocolate bar is a favourite among vegans for good reason.

    The bar is also available in white and dark chocolate varieties.


    Hotel Chocolat

    Whether you’re gift-hunting for a chocoholic or just really want to treat yourself, Hotel Chocolat has an impressive range of vegan-friendly chocolates to choose from.

    Options include:

    • Vegan Sleekster
    • 70% Dark Chocolate Batons
    • 85% Dark Chocolate Batons
    • 45% Nutmilk Chocolate Batons
    • Rose & Violet Creams
    • Gianduja Bombes
    • Dark Chocolate Covered Ginger
    • Hazelnut & Ginger Chocolates
    • Raspberry Nutmilk Ganache
    • Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut
    • 70% Dark Chocolate Slab

    Hotel Chocolat is also renowned for exciting seasonal launches for occasions like Easter, Halloween and Christmas, so check out the vegan surprises too.

    Green and Black’s

    Most of the dark chocolate bars from Green and Black’s are accidentally vegan, including some of the flavoured varieties. Just check the ingredients to ensure milk isn’t present.


    These luxury chocolates are award-winning and you’ll soon realise why!

    Booja-Booja’s indulgent gourmet truffles are complete with a cocoa dusting and come in various flavours, including Hazelnut Crunch, Almond Salted Caramel and Champagne. These make great gifts too.


    If you love dark chocolate with a kick of flavour, Ombar is the brand for you. This fair trade, organic chocolate is also free from palm oil and refined sugars, but doesn’t compromise on flavour.

    Choose from various flavours, including:

    • Coco Mylk
    • Strawberry Mylk
    • Blueberry & Acai
    • Coco Almond
    • Salt & Nibs
    • Pistachio
    • Hazelnut Truffle
    • Raspberry & Coconut
    • Coconut & Vanilla
    • Coco 60%
    • 72% Cacao
    • 90% Cacao
    • 100% Cacao

    Doisy & Dam

    This brand has ethics and sustainability at its core and brings the fun to vegan dark chocolate.

    Choose from chocolate bars in multiple mouth-watering flavours, as well as truffles, chocolate drops, buttons and more. Perfect for snacking or sharing!

    • Dark Chocolate Peanuts
    • Dark Chocolate Ballers
    • Dark Chocolate Buttons
      • Dark Chocolate Drops
    • Vegan Good Eggs

    Cocoa Libre

    This is another brand making it easier for vegans who also avoid gluten and nuts! These delightfully thick chocolate slabs come in several flavours, such as Espresso, Salted Caramel, Dark Mint and more.

    Dirty Cow

    These unique dark chocolate bars are bursting with flavour – literally! Each bar is handmade using different ingredients that have been dunked and added to Dirty Cow’s creamy chocolate. If you’re a fan of quirky combinations, give these a try.

    • Cookies No Cream
    • Netflix and Chill
    • Hail Mary Berry
    • Cinnamon Churros
    • Cherry Pop
    • Honey Come Home


    Divine offers a range of Fairtrade, vegan-friendly chocolates that are free from palm oil. From decadent dark chocolate bars to flavoured varieties, there’s something for everyone here.

    85% Dark Chocolate

    70% Dark With Mint Crisp

    85% Dark With Quinoa & Blueberry

    85% Dark With Lemon

    Dark With Hazelnut Truffle

    70% Dark With Clementine

    70% Dark With Raspberries

    60% Dark With Himalayan Pink Salt

    After Dinner Mint Thins

    After Dinner Ginger Thins

    Tony’s Chocolonely

    This brand is on a mission to end exploitation in the chocolate supply chain and now offers a small handful of vegan-friendly flavours:

    • Dark Lemony Caramel
    • Dark Almond Sea Salt
    • Extra Dark Chocolate

    What Is a Vegan Diet? Basics, Ethics, and Foods List

    What Is a Vegan Diet Basics, Ethics, and Foods List

    A vegan diet, or veganism, tends to omit animal products for ethical, health, or environmental reasons.

    Once considered a niche diet, veganism has gone mainstream — so much so that the number of people following a vegan diet has increased by 350% in the last decade, according to research from the U.K.

    By definition, veganism is a way of living in which people exclude, as much as possible, all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty.

    At first glance, a vegan diet may seem complicated or overly restrictive. Many of my clients who are considering switching over to a vegan diet are initially worried about finding suitable vegan alternatives to their favorite meals.

    Yet, most find that once they get a few basics down, the transition is less difficult than they initially expected.

    As someone enjoying a plant-based diet myself, I’ve noticed more and more vegan options appearing on supermarket shelves and restaurant menus in the past couple of years.

    I’ve even recently come across a vegan version of pastel de nata, one of my all-time favorite desserts.

    In this https://thevegangarden.com/‘s article, I’ll outline what veganism is and share a few basics about foods to eat and avoid on a vegan diet.

    What Is a Vegan Diet Basics, Ethics, and Foods List

    What is veganism?

    According to the Vegan Society, the term “vegan” was coined back in 1944 by a small group of vegetarians who broke away from the Leicester Vegetarian Society in England to form the Vegan Society.

    In addition to refraining from eating meat, they chose not to consume dairy, eggs, or any other products of animal origin.

    The term “vegan” was chosen from the combination of the first and last letters of “vegetarian.” By 1949, the first definition of veganism had been born. It has changed slightly over the years to become what it is known as today.

    According to the latest definition from the Vegan Society, veganism is “a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude — as far as is possible and practicable — all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing, or any other purposes.”

    Many people use the term “vegan” to refer exclusively to diet. However, by this latest definition, veganism extends beyond eating a plant-based diet.

    Those who identify as vegans typically aim to exclude animal exploitation or cruelty in all aspects of their lives, including the clothes they wear, the cosmetics they use, and the leisure activities they take part in.

    As a result, many vegans avoid purchasing wool coats, leather furniture, or down pillows and comforters. They may also opt to visit animal sanctuaries instead of going to zoos, the circus, or animal petting farms.

    Why do people go vegan?

    People generally choose to avoid animal products for one or more of the following reasons.


    Ethical vegans strongly believe that all creatures have a right to life and freedom.

    They view all animals as conscious beings that, just like humans, wish to avoid pain and suffering.

    Because of this, ethical vegans are opposed to killing an animal in order to eat its flesh or wear its fur or skin.

    Vegans are also opposed to the psychological and physical stress that animals may endure as a result of modern farming practices — for instance, the small pens or cages that animals typically live in and rarely leave between their birth and slaughter.

    However, for ethical vegans, this sentiment extends beyond the cruelty of modern farming practices.

    That’s because vegans are opposed to consuming products that heavily rely on the killing of other animals — especially because alternatives are available.

    This includes the slaughter of calves that are considered surplus in the dairy industry, or the culling of 1-day-old male chicks that is common in egg production.

    Moreover, ethical vegans generally believe that animals’ milk, eggs, honey, silk, and wool are not for humans to exploit, regardless of the living conditions afforded to the exploited animals.

    This is why ethical vegans remain opposed to drinking an animal’s milk, eating its eggs, or wearing its wool, even in cases where the animals are free-roaming or pasture-fed.


    Some people choose a vegan diet for its potential health benefits.

    Diets high in meat — especially red meat — have been linked to cancer, heart disease, and type 2 diabetes.

    On the other hand, plant-based diets have been linked to a lower risk of developing or prematurely dying from these diseases.

    Lowering your intake of animal products in favor of more plant-based options may also improve your digestion and reduce your risk of Alzheimer’s disease.

    A vegan diet can also help minimize the side effects linked to the antibiotics and hormones used in modern animal agriculture.

    Finally, vegan diets appear to be especially effective at helping people lose unwanted weight. Several studies link a vegan diet to a lower likelihood of obesity.

    However, if you’re on a vegan diet, you may consume less of certain nutrients. That’s why planning is especially important.

    Consider speaking with a healthcare professional, such as a doctor or registered dietitian, to plan a vegan diet that will help you get the nutrients you need.

    Vegan diets tend to be low in these nutrients:

    • vitamin B12
    • vitamin D
    • calcium
    • zinc
    • iodine
    • selenium

    People on vegan diets sometimes take supplements to provide nutrients they may not get enough of in their diet.


    People may also choose to avoid animal products in an attempt to limit their environmental impact.

    According to recent data, animal agriculture heavily contributes to greenhouse gas emissions (GHGEs), which cause climate change.

    Meat eaters are thought to be responsible for 2–2.5 times more GHGEs than people following a vegan diet. This number is based on self-reported dietary patterns in the U.K.

    Ruminant animals, such as cattle, sheep, and goats, appear to emit the largest amount of greenhouse gases per gram of protein they deliver. Therefore, diets that reduce or totally eliminate dairy also produce significantly fewer GHGEs.

    One study suggests that a vegetarian diet produces 33% fewer GHGEs than a meat-containing standard American diet offering the same amount of calories.

    A vegan diet has an even smaller environmental impact, producing about 53% fewer GHGEs than a calorie-matched meat-containing diet.

    A large proportion of the plant protein currently being produced is used to feed animals rather than humans. Because of this, production of an animal-heavy diet requires use of more of the earth’s resources than production of a plant-based diet.

    For instance, producing animal protein requires 6–17 times more land than the same amount of soybean protein.

    Animal protein also requires, on average, 2–3 times more water, depending on factors such as the season and annual fluctuations in rainfall.

    Because of all of these factors, experts estimate that, if nothing changes, our food system will likely exceed our planet’s resources by the year 2050. Switching over to a vegan diet may be one way to delay this outcome.

    Types of veganism

    It’s important to note that vegan doesn’t necessarily equal healthy.

    The quality of a vegan diet depends on the foods that make it up. Thus, some vegan diets can have many health benefits, while others may not be beneficial for your health.

    Here are a few subcategories of vegan diet that I’ve come across in my clinical practice over the last couple of years:

    • Dietary vegans. Often used interchangeably with “plant-based eaters,” this term refers to those who avoid animal products in their diet but continue to use them in other products, such as clothing and cosmetics.
    • Whole-food vegans. These individuals favor a diet rich in whole foods, such as fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds.
    • Junk-food” vegans. Some people rely heavily on processed vegan foods such as vegan meats, fries, frozen dinners, and desserts, including Oreo cookies and nondairy ice cream.
    • Raw-food vegans. This group eats only foods that are raw or cooked at temperatures below 118°F (48°C).
    • Low fat raw-food vegans. Also known as fruitarians, this subset limits high fat foods such as nuts, avocados, and coconuts, instead relying mainly on fruit. They may occasionally eat small amounts of other plants.

    Whole-food vegan diets tend to offer excellent health benefits. If you’re interested in trying a vegan diet, consider speaking with a healthcare professional to find the right diet for you.

    What do vegans eat?

    Here are some essential foods people on a vegan diet tend to eat and avoid.

    Foods that vegans eat

    Avoiding animal products doesn’t restrict you to eating salads and tofu alone. There’s a wide variety of delicious foods you can eat on a vegan diet.

    Here are a few ideas:

    • Beans, peas, and lentils: such as red, brown, or green lentils; chickpeas; split peas; black-eyed peas; black beans; white beans; and kidney beans
    • Soy products: such as fortified soy milk, soybeans, and products made from them, such as tofu, tempeh, and natto
    • Nuts: such as peanuts, almonds, cashews, and their butters
    • Seeds: such as sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, and their butters, as well as flaxseed, hemp seeds, and chia seeds
    • Whole grains: such as quinoa, whole wheat, whole oats, and whole grain brown or wild rice, as well as products made from these foods, such as whole grain bread, crackers, and pasta
    • Starchy vegetables: such as potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, squash, beets, and turnips
    • Nonstarchy vegetables: such as broccoli, cabbage, asparagus, radishes, and leafy greens; these may be raw, frozen, canned, dried, or pureed
    • Fruit: such as apples, pears, bananas, berries, mango, pineapple, oranges, and tangerines; these may be purchased fresh, frozen, canned, dried, or pureed
    • Other plant-based foods: such as algae, nutritional yeast, fortified plant milks and yogurts, and maple syrup

    There’s a good chance that many of the dishes you currently enjoy either already are vegan or can be made vegan with a few simple adjustments.

    For instance, you can swap meat-based main dishes for meals containing beans, peas, lentils, tofu, tempeh, nuts, or seeds.

    What’s more, you can replace dairy products with plant milks, scrambled eggs with scrambled tofu, honey with plant-based sweeteners like molasses or maple syrup, and raw eggs with flaxseed or chia seeds.

    You can also choose from the ever-growing selection of ready-made vegan products, including vegan meats, vegan cheeses, and vegan desserts.

    Just keep in mind that these may be highly processed. So while they are fine to eat in moderation, they should not make up the bulk of a healthy vegan diet.

    Foods that vegans avoid

    Vegans avoid all foods of animal origin. These include:

    • Meat and fish: such as beef, chicken, duck, fish, and shellfish
    • Eggs: whole eggs and foods that contain them, such as bakery products
    • Dairy: milk, cheese, butter, and cream, as well as foods made using these ingredients
    • Other animal-derived ingredients: such as honey, albumin, casein, carmine, gelatin, pepsin, shellac, isinglass, and whey

    Checking food labels is generally the best way to determine whether a food contains animal-derived ingredients. Many vegan foods are now also labeled as such, making it easier to recognize them when you’re shopping.

    The bottom line

    Vegans tend to avoid animal products for ethical, health, or environmental reasons or a combination of the three.

    On a vegan diet, you’ll likely find yourself replacing meat, eggs, and dairy with an abundance of plant foods, including fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, and fortified products made from these foods.

    Transitioning to a vegan diet is easier than most people think. That said, it does require a little additional nutrition knowledge.

    So if you’re interested in making the switch, consider seeking advice from a registered dietitian specializing in plant-based diets to make sure you’ve got your basics covered.

    Depending on your knowledge, budget, and culinary skills, you may also want to consider taking certain supplements to ensure you’re providing your body with all the nutrients it needs.